

# Proposed edit to Bylaw 13 "Term of Office for Directors (Secretariat)"

#### Reason for the edit:

Change director terms from two to three years to allow more time to become accustomed to the workings of the Secretariat and to increase overall effectiveness with an additional year to share experience gained.

#### **Current version:**

Term of Office for Directors (Secretariat)

- I. At the first election of directors following the approval of this bylaw, at least three (3) but no more than ten (10) directors shall be elected for a two-year (2) term.
- II. The term of office for all directors is for two (2) years, with the exception of the President who shall serve a total of four (4) years including one (1) year as President-Elect, two (2) subsequent years as President and one (1) year as Past President.
- III. No individual shall serve more than two consecutive terms for any office; an individual may only serve one term as President within a ten-year (10) period.

### **Proposed edits:**

- I) Remove point I since it no longer applies
- II) Change the words "two (2)" to "three (3)" years in point II

## **Revised Version:**

Term of Office for Directors (Secretariat)

- I. The term of office for all directors is for three (3) years, with the exception of the President who shall serve a total of four (4) years including one (1) year as President-Elect, two (2) subsequent years as President and one (1) year as Past President.
- II. No individual shall serve more than two consecutive terms for any office; an individual may only serve one term as President within a ten-year (10) period.

As of November 21, 2023